Aliakseyeu and Moon win 2023 MSEN Awards

Aliaksei Aliakseyeu and Junho Moon were awarded with 2023 MSEN Awards this summer.

Aliaksei received the Best Ph.D. Thesis award for his thesis titled, “Star Polymers in Solution and in Multilayer Assemblies”.

Junho received the Outstanding Teacher award for his teaching experiences in MSEN 360 Materials Characterization and MSEN 301 Lab A (Polymer) Unified Materials Lab. In these courses, he instructed the students on laboratory instruments, graded reports, and provided feedback.

Congratulations to both students on this great achievement!

Rajagopalan selected for Phi Kappa Phi’s Love of Learning Award

PhD student Kartik Kumar Rajagopalan was selected as a recipient for Phi Kappa Phi’s Love of Learning Award. The Love of Learning Awards help fund post-baccalaureate professional development for active Phi Kappa Phi members. The committee was impressed with Kartik’s superior academic record and life/career ambitions.

Congratulations, Kartik!

Rajagopalan selected for SPE-Henry Kahn Scholarship

PhD student Kartik Kumar Rajagopalan was one of two graduate students selected to receive the SPE-Henry Kahn Scholarship! The scholarship is sponsored by The Society of Plastics Engineers. The SPE Scholarship is awarded to both graduate and undergraduate students who display excellence both academically and in their respective research fields.

Congratulations, Kartik!

Rajagopalan selected as 2022 Eastman Chemical Award finalist

Kartik Kumar Rajagopalan was one of six finalists selected for the 2022 Eastman Chemical Student Award! He will be giving an oral presentation at ACS Fall 2022 in the Eastman Chemical Student Award symposium over his submitted paper, entitled “Infrared Spectroscopy Study of Polymer Gelation Mechanism in Inorganic Salt Hydrates”.

The award is sponsored by Eastman Chemical Company, and the competition is organized by the PMSE division of ACS. The purpose of this award is to “recognize research excellence by a graduate student in applied polymer science”.
Congratulations, Kartik!

Research by Brito & collaborators selected as ACS Editors’ Choice

Jordan Brito’s research with collaborators at University of Maryland was recently accepted to ACS Applied Bio Materials and selected as an ACS Editors’ Choice!

The paper was selected for this honor because of its potential for broad public interest. As part of the ACS Editors’ Choice program, it will be freely accessible for six months.

The article, titled “Cationic Fluoropolyphosphazenes: Synthesis and Assembly with Heparin as a Pathway to Hemocompatible Nanocoatings”, is now available to read online.

Well done, Jordan & collaborators!